Skip to content

A Day Without Rice

April 5, 2008
tags: , , ,

Thinking about Asia would instantly conjure up images of rolling plains of endless rice fields, lush, green and full of yummy rice by the time of harvest. It is unimaginable that there would be insufficient rice for us to eat.

The rice crisis in Asia is currently in its most critical stages now, with scores of paranoid people rushing to snatch bags of rice off the shelves for fear of rice shortages in the upcoming weeks or even months. In a bid to be ‘kiasu’ (meaning fearing of losing out and not wanting to be left behind by the masses), my parents contributed in perpetuating the situation by joining in the stockpiling of rice. Better safe than sorry, everyone would say in defense of their not-so-altruistic behaviour.

We tried to practice ‘a day in the life of not having enough rice to eat’ at home today. It is a bit like those earthquake/typhoon simulation drills but in the form of a rice shortage crisis. I have always preferred eating noodles to rice, and that was when we took rice for granted and didn’t think it would run out anyday. I couldn’t. After a day of noodles, pasta and bread, I realise I am a true-blue Asian who can’t live without rice.

Realistically speaking, any alternative carb-loaded food is too expensive and cloying to be eaten as a staple in the long term. I take back all the things I said about not liking rice. What would we do without rice? I hope we never get to find out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 5, 2008 7:55 PM

    Hi there! Interesting post. My mum is like you, she always says she feels weak if she hasn’t eaten rice on any given day. As for me, I’m a potatoes girl! I can’t imagine life without potatoes…

    Helen Yuet Ling

Leave a Reply

