Skip to content

#14 R U Fast Enuf? – Tirading Against the Speed of Life

April 12, 2008

I can safely say that I am easily one of the people who walks the fastest. (Yes, challenge me if you’d like) But, I can definitely say that I am never fast enough. I am always running, running late, running forward, running after the bus, running to catch up with the smartypants, running to grab that last seat in the library before everyone snaps ’em up.

I love to sleep, and that meant a lot of snoozes and never enough time to get dressed in time and rush out of the door. More often than not, I’d forget this and that because I don’t have time to check my stuff before running out. Breakfast became extinct in my dictionary. Lunch is on the Endangered Activities List. I am reserving Dinner on the Social Life Conservation Scheme. I know I shouldn’t be doing this, torturing myself, missing out on life, missing out on cultivating good relationships, missing out on how blue the sky is and how everyday is a gift of life. This sounds soo preachy, yeah? But once the adrenaline wears off and you sit down (for once your heart rate is at a normal pace), you’ll suddenly feel a chaotic inner rush of emotions, regret, sadness, pain, denial, fear, purposelessness…

Everyone is obsessed about speed. Deadlines. Instant coffee. Internet shopping. Fed-Ex. Express lanes. You know you are pathetic when your main mode of catching up with friends is texting and email, and the last time you had a proper lunch and a heart-to-heart chat with a close friend was…omg, you can’t remember. Is fast necessarily good? Whatever happened to letting your thoughts settle and letting inspiration come when it hits you? Sure, it won’t be finger-snapping fast, but it allows your work to flow naturally out of you, as long as you don’t let it sit for too long. There’s no need to rush..rushing just makes everyone angry, flustered and crazy, and possibly counterproductive if happiness is the key to quality work.

There is no stopping now though, unless you kick off your running shoes and get out of the race. (that is, bumming on a beach and living off coconuts and dead monkeys) The spinning cogs of time will squeeze you alive, and until you find a way to get around it, to save yourself, you may not recognise who you are the next time you check your reflection in the mirror…when you reach 30, that is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

