Skip to content

#18 ‘The function is unavailable in this version.’ What?

April 19, 2008

I know I’m supposed to be studying now, but I can’t resist ranting about this.

I was trying to print my PDF files out earlier on, and I was appalled to discover my favourite functions are unavailable (skewing the pages and printing multiple pages) because the software is TWO versions (fellow tech elitists’ gasp) behind the latest one. So what am I supposed to do? I guess I could only go hunting for the more updated machines to do my work then. I hate to complain like a spoiled child, but isn’t the most updated software the least we could have on our college computers?

College computers can be very frustrating. The old versions of software can drive people c-r-a-z-y. I know technology changes faster than most people can afford to catch up, but tech improvements exist because they can enhance people’s efficiency and allow greater creativity and flexibility in computer work. It doesn’t help if the computers aren’t updated with the latest software.

I’m glad I’m still in the midst of my Vista conversion, because that’s what I’m going to be screeching about the next time I cannot find a function I need.

One Comment leave one →
  1. stubbornger permalink
    April 19, 2008 3:12 PM

    Hey! I happen to see ur blog here… ANd its super nice to read. =))
    How have u been? Take care!

Leave a Reply

