Skip to content

#64 The Uphill Task of Combating Pre-Exam Distractions

November 18, 2009

The bed. The upcoming movie opening for Twilight: New Moon. Grey’s Anatomy episodes. The radio. People talking outside the room. The TV. Facebook. The bed. The TV. The boyfriend. The peeling nail polish on my toes. The split ends. The magazines. The bed. The TV. Facebook. More Facebook stalking.

I don’t know about you, but as the big F, Finals that is, approaches with each passing day, breathing heavily down my neck, more oppressing and ominous than a serial killer on a B-grade summer horror blockbuster, the more I’m distracted. Everything seems to be distracting. It’s like a virus. First it passes you before your eyes. Then it settles quietly on your fingertips. And then, before you know it, it creeps up into your mind and poisons you….its toxic cells multiplying insidiously throughout your grey matter until it fills every corner with everything un-academic imaginable. What do you call this? I’m not even a senior yet, and I am officially suffering from the seasonal college affliction of senioritis…

Made plans for the winter holidays? Check. Made a shopping list for winter and next spring’s wardrobe? Check. Pedicure? Check. Replied to all incoming emails? Check. Downloaded the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy? Check.

Piles and piles of untouched reading assignments? Yet to be checked.

Number of days to the Big F. Five. (Oh, how convenient, Five with a capital F.)

And then I am reminded of my responsibilities as a college student, this is my calling, my destiny, my duty. I am here because I am meant to study. Because I can. And I am not about to throw it all away because of my struggle to focus. And as though this is not enough, I remind myself of that annoying pimply-faced kid in my Natural Hazards class (or, don’t you wanna know I’m talking about you?) who (almost) said pointedly in my face that I don’t know what I’m doing. I don’t know what I’m doing? Well, I will show you.

Ahh, that was easy, wasn’t it? Now watch me roar. And strut down the examination hall looking cute and in style at that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mondaymerde permalink
    November 19, 2009 3:08 PM

    Finals versus New Moon.. Tough call. Best of luck with that decision. :o)

  2. November 20, 2009 1:34 PM

    Love the last line! 😀 Exactly. Smart + stylish = perfect combination! It can actually go together. 😉

Leave a Reply

